Shinta blog header photo
Shinta's c-blog
Posts 897Blogs 21Following 0Followers 43



Collaboration: Masashi Hamauzu, Mina Sakai, and the Revival of Ainu Culture

Imeruat's new album, Black Ocean, was released on April 12th in Japan. In many ways video game fans will feel right at home with the album, which was composed by Masashi Hamauzu (Final Fantasy XIII, Final Fantasy XIII-2, Final Fantasy X), and features Mitsuto Suzuki (The 3rd Birthday, Final Fantasy XIII-2) and Mina Sakai (Final Fantasy XIII). However, it also represents a significant departure for Hamauzu that fans may not understand without a full appreciation of what he's trying to accomplish with this album.

Imeruat (Imeruat)

01 - Black Ocean
02 - Cirotto
03 - Leave Me Alone
04 - Giant
05 - Haru no Kasumi
06 - Left
07 - 6Muk
08 - Morning Plate
09 - Imeruat
10 - Little Me
11 - Battaki
12 - Yaysama
13 - Springs

The end result is a breath of fresh of air, and an extremely unique album. Some tracks really fall flat, like Morning Plate and Leave Me Alone. In contrast, Giant is a powerhouse composition that will remind you of Hamauzu's masterful piano work on Final Fantasy XIII. Black Ocean, Left, Springs and Imeruat are more electronics focused, modern tracks reminiscent of some of Hamauzu's electronic work on Final Fantasy XIII. Cirotto, Haru no Kasumi, and Yaysama are quiet, minimalist tracks you might hear in a small bar or coffee shop. And 6Muk and Battaki feature strong, prominent Ainu vocals reminiscent of some American Indian vocal rhythms.

Fascinating album, and I can't wait to hear more from this group, and Hamauzu.
Login to vote this up!


Tsukiru   1



Please login (or) make a quick account (free)
to view and post comments.

 Login with Twitter

 Login with Dtoid

Three day old threads are only visible to verified humans - this helps our small community management team stay on top of spam

Sorry for the extra step!


About Shintaone of us since 1:53 AM on 02.15.2010